a LEGO party for baby J ♥

The highlight of Jo and his family’s homecoming last August was Johan’s Baptismal and 1st Birthday which we marked in one occasion.

johan_1

Chris Joseph, Johan, Badudels, is the youngest crew of our brood, the muy guapo and everyone’s apple of the eye because it was everyone’s first time to meet him. Curly hair, big eyes, flawless skin and calmness, I wonder where he got all his good looks? Momi Che would you claim all yours, I bet someone would disagree and make a comment on a whim. Hehehe.

Back in January right after Jo and MJ’s departure, Jo asked me to help them with all the preparations for Johan’s. I can’t say no of course because you know how I love parties however, I was still occupied with one major event happening in May. By June, the whole prep started to run –sourcing out suppliers, getting reservations, conceptualizations, running errands and so on and so forth. And though there were some hiccups encountered even at the early part of preparations –change of venue bec the Admin at the university suddenly cancelled our reservation for reasons that were a bit inconsistent, it got us worried also because the host/performer we’re eyeing was already fully booked hence if we change the original date he penciled for us he won’t make it, there were minor concerns too including no baptismal schedule during Saturdays at the church nearby, well, good thing that we have more options for this considering Indang and Tagaytay’s proximity. Despite the distance, Dubai, Manila and Cavite, we were able to sort out the major ones.

johan_2

I failed to attend the baptismal rites because I was in-charge of the overall prep back at Tropical Greens, I have to ensure that all suppliers arrived on time  and they’re doing it right based on our agreed terms plus I needed time to organize the party favors and prizes. Part of it I need to received guests who went straight at the venue. Whew!

johan_3

So, I’m missing this photo op 😦

Anyhow, let me share you how great the party was. It was indeed a happy occasion, the happiest birthday I’ve witnessed so far.

johan_25

The theme, the other option was Handy Manny but then we all fell in love with the colorful and bright Lego theme. ♥

Good thing that Google provided all the Lego ideas I can only imagine from backdrop, invites, party favors, name tags, gift tags, cake designs, photo booth supplies, etc.

johan_4

The venue, we made early bookings at The International House, we thought it was perfect considering the location plus the venue was spanking new however, things happened so we ended at Tropical Greens Clubhouse in Tagaytay. Not so bad considering the good weather and the privacy we enjoyed.

The caterer, Olaes Catering provided all the kitchen stuffs including the overall table setting and manpower. Had we come to their event’s place earlier we might have considered holding the party there, I highly recommend the venue tho a bit remote in my opinion. Oh, I have to commend all their crew for being so attentive and friendly and pro!

johan_5

Backdrop, balloons, standee and table centerpieces were provided by Gloom Balloons. The couple behind GB was so easy to work with, especially Ivy. We had all our conversations and agreements in facebook and I never doubted any, they delivered very well.

johan_6

Cake was also provided by Gloom Balloons, it was exactly what we all had in mind. ♥

johan_8

johan_7

Host/Performer was an old friend from the telecom industry, Glenn Angeles a.k.a Yoyo Master. Glenn has come a long way after our separation with the former employer; everyone at the party was wowed at how entertaining and brand new his hosting style and yoyo mastery was, even the grown-up’s attentions were captured by his humor and talent. It was indeed a great party, thank you Glenn and Eileen.

johan_10

Baptismal invite

johan_9

Birthday invite

johan_11

Photobooth, we provided the hard hat 🙂

johan_12

johan_31

Dessert Buffet

Invites (we have two sets), Tags, Photo Coverage, Photo Booth, Dessert Buffet was provided by my batchmate, Sherwyn Romen and wife. Because they lived somewhere North we made all arrangements thru email and facebook, plus point of working with someone you personally know –I can demand anytime of the day and I can easily pinpoint changes, and improvements.

johan_18

Escalante Catering (ehem), Nanay and Che’s first big venture. They provided the food per se from lunch up until the mid-afternoon merienda cena. The food was delicious, of course love your own plus you know how our palate can be so picky that’s why we normally pass up home-cooked meals when dining around. Menu included the following: pork bbq, shanghai roll, salt & pepper spareribs, pork asado, sweet & sour pork, buttered veggie, yang chow rice and pancit canton. I’m proud of you guys, however, I have to point out that coming on time is a big plus and creates a lasting impression. Also, there’s this shortage of rice again, I wonder why it happened all the time. Now, to Nanay and Che, you’re more than ready now to accept catering opportunities, good luck! Don’t forget to tip me for advertising your services free of charge. Hehehe.

johan_20

There’s a lechon carving station also. The lechon were commissioned.

johan_19

We also ordered food from Jollibee for the kiddos to incorporate that “bida ang saya” feel. Hello there, Aouie girl! 😀

johan_13

Tokens from Invento Central which I ordered online –personalized round tins with mints. These tokens were for the grown-ups and titas and lolas. 🙂

johan_14

Patchino in orange paper bags

Token for principal sponsors were Patchi chocolates which Jo and Che bought back in Dubai. They carried a luggage full of chocolates and it made everyone so happy.

johan_16

johan_17

Party favors for the kids, contact me for this 🙂

johan_21

Prizes includes hard hats, building blocks, lego themed characters, gel pens, rubic cubes, packed of haribo’s and chocolates and many more! 

Party Favors, Prizes, other stuffs. I have to personally take care of these because when Che said she wanted the party “so bongga” everything must follow. Ze husband and I made several trips to Divi market, excluding my solo trips at the mall to complete the list –at least 50 pieces for the prizes alone and 70 buckets loaded with toys and snacks. I made sure every kid will went home with smile ear to ear, a birthday party they will never ever forget.

johan_26

johan_27

johan_28

johan_29

johan_30

The party was well attended that even distant relatives from the maternal side made it. Everyone was cheerful except for the isolated case –kiddo almost drowned at the clubhouse pool.

johan_23

Tatay and Papa Nopes 

johan_22

And lastly, the photo above made me cry and miss him more. Tatay was so alive then. Sorry, I can’t help but feel emotional everytime I’ll remember his last few days, it was so soon Tatay. 😦

johan_24

Now, allow me to shoot a short message to my newest godson –Johan.

You will not probably remember our first meeting, by the time you’re 2 or 3 I hope I’ll make an imprint on your very young memory then.

As you get taller each day may you learn about the world around you, despite the distance to home country may you grow up with the customary values we had had. I’m not saying that it’s bad to learn something from your country now instead took advantage of it, make use of the additional wisdom so you’ll live stronger and your spirit happier.

Listen to Daddy and Mommy, to Kuya Jorrel and to all the people who love you. Listen to each drop of rain, chirps of birds or slap of waves every visit at Jumeirah Beach. Listen to your gut feeling and appreciate silence. On those quiet moments keep in mind that God is closer, learn to pray and obey wholeheartedly little boy.

Lastly, love. Love God with your everything. Always remember that when all else fails He will comfort you and lead and love you no matter.  –Ninang E ♥

 

P.S. Ninang will make it up to you next year plus I’m not forgetting my belated gift to you. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “a LEGO party for baby J ♥

  1. Wow, looks like a festive birthday party and you did a good job. I don’t have a knack for organizing/coordinating a party – nakakastress pala (narealize ko lang nung wedding ko).
    Although I think I will enjoy shopping at divi ;p

    Like

  2. Hi. I just to know where did you buy those hard hats? Im having a construction birthday party for my son. Hope you can help me.

    Thank you.

    Mrs. Raquel Perez

    Like

Leave a comment