forty-nine

I turned 49 two weeks ago and it feels surreal because I was able to tick off a thing on my last year’s bucket list. If you have read my last year’s birthday post you’ll get what I mean. 😀

Since my birthday fell on a weekend I threw a small lunch party at home. Unlike in the past, my maternal family was always present during occasions, this time I chose to celebrate silently with my closest friends only. Why? Because I don’t have the energy to entertain too many people at the same time and secondly, I don’t have the resources to invite too many so I think keeping a small guest list is best. Coincidentally, a relative of ours was also celebrating a birthday (and baptismal of his grandchild) over lunch at Hotel M’s clubhouse so most of the relatives didn’t actually felt the social exclusion. ✌

So, to make the party short and simple, I prepared a lunch spread that friends will talk for days which I think will produce feel-good chemicals like serotonin and dopamine, 😛 seriously tho I ordered my happy food because it’s my birthday!

Pancit for long life, puto for purity, fish fingers for stability, balance and tranquility, beef biryani and butter chicken masala for differences and divergences, charcuterie for fascination and visual appeal, lechon to brightens the party and cakes (and sweets) to celebrate this milestone. Wala ba akong na-miss ipaliwanag, guise? 

*Sansrival cake from Gay Vasquez (i’ll do a review of it next time, it’s highly recommended), Sansrival from Goldilocks sent by my team including the bouquet of roses, Luscious Caramel cake (Goldilocks din to) given by my hs girlfriends (LEARA).

Classic Ube Cake of The Pastry Company from Rosette, Caramia’s Midnight Dream from my boss and last but not the least That Ooey Gooey Chocolate Cake from one of my agents. Pwede bang mas bongga pa next year 😁

My girlfriends from high school was complete, so it was like another mini-reunion for us.

Three from my GOTO Klab fam came (ok, they’re four becos Mayora is part of it na nga pala). These are the friends I call my constants becos we go out a lot. Tho it’s hard to complete this group because two are always out of the country (missin’ my birthday were madam M, D3 & Henry).

Gem from my PILTEA friends came also, I’m so thankful that he never forgets and always find time. He stayed late and we had coffee in Tagaytay to cap off the night.

My birthday gratitude list:

  • Long time friends
  • My two bois (Bibo & Pabu) who gives me headaches and happiness every single day
  • My job and the working arrangement I’m privilege to have
  • My B (broom broom, skirt skirt) for continuing his safe service and endless journeys.
  • All the trips I made last year (Batangas & Laguna during the Holy Week, Ilocos & La Union in May and Baguio in August) and to more travels this year.
  • Hotel K for making my life easier and sleep comfortable.
  • All my struggles and disappointments, plans that didn’t go as expected —but left me with important life lessons and realizations.
  • My perfectly imperfect family.
  • The silence I get to enjoy at 5am.
  • My husband and the small stuff he’s up that steals my sanity. Yes, despite and in spite of I still love him because he does the same. Salamat sa pa-lechon! 😘

LEARA x GOTO Klab

Serious na guise, I’m thankful for this birthday because turning a year is a huge blessing. Thank you, universe for being so kind and generous despite my failings. Thank you, Lord for all my life’s blessings. 💖

Happy birthday to me! 🥧

 

I don’t mind getting older; 

it’s a privilege denied to so many!

-Chris Geiger

 

P.S. I gifted myself a Criselda Lontok piece becos I feel its age appropriate and very timely for the company event next month. So, don’t judge my spending. 😛

 

Gay Vasquez Sansrival

35 Firefly Street, 3B Villas del Corazon

Valle Verde 6, Pasig

Contact: 0917 301 0615

Sangkap by Gigi

Contact: 0975 883 0710

Manzil Al Taam-Cavite

KAWIT SOUTHBRO COMPLEX

Advincula Ave., Brgy. San Sebastian, Kawit

Contact: 0967 203 8805

Drel’s Lechon (Tagaytay)

Contact: 0917 825 8011

www.drelslechon.com

2 thoughts on “forty-nine

Leave a comment